Cage Match 2012 — The Character List!


Quick Ben

And so it begins…

For the past few years, Unbound Worlds has been the home of Cage Match, where we pit fantasy and science fiction characters against each other in a March Madness-style bracket.

Check out last year’s Cage Match to get an idea of what I’m talking about.

Seriously–go on and take a look. We’ll wait.

You back?

Excellent! As you can see, Steven Erikson’s Quick Ben took the crown with close victory over Brandon Sanderson’s Vin, following a year in which Robert Jordan’s Rand al’Thor took not only the inaugural Cage Match, but also beat out the satellite Villains! tournament winner, George R.R. Martin’s Gregor Clegaine, for the 2010 Championship crown.

Because coming up in March 2012, we’re doing it again–this time with a full field of 64 characters!

We tried to have a good balance of newer characters and classic ones, YA and adult, powerful and simply compelling–and we think we did a good job.

But below is the list, in alphabetical order, of the 64 contestants for the 2012 Cage Match title, and we have some questions for you:

• How would you seed them?
• What match-ups would you like to see?
• Who’d we miss?

Take a look, and stay tuned to Unbound Worlds in the next coming weeks and months for more updates leading to the beginning of the tournament!


Anasûrimbor Kellhus — R. Scott Bakker
Anomander Rake — Steven Erikson
Atticus O’Sullivan — Kevin Hearne
Aurest — Paula Brandon
Babcock — Justin Cronin
Bast — Patrick Rothfuss
Bram — Lia Habel
Caine — Matthew Stover
Carnival — Alan Campbell
Chess Putnam — Stacia Kane
Claire Haskell — David J. Williams
The Dagda Mor — Terry Brooks
Darian Frey — Chris Wooding
Esmerelda “Esme” Weatherwax (Granny Weatherwax) — Terry Pratchett
Evangeline Stone — Kelly Meding
Erevis Cale — Paul S. Kemp
The Escapist — Michael Chabon
Felix — Ted Kosmatka
Ferro Maljinn — Joe Abercrombie
The Fool — Robin Hobb
Gale Hawthorne — Suzanne Collins
Gimli — J.R.R. Tolkien
Gray Mouser — Fritz Lieber
Greg Mandel — Peter F. Hamilton
Harry Potter — J.K. Rowling
Havemercy — Jaida Jones and Dani Bennett
The Horned King — Lloyd Alexander
Iorek Byrnison — Philip Pullman
Jardir — Peter Brett
Jean Tannen — Scott Lynch
Jonathan Strange — Susanna Clarke
Juan “Johnny” Rico — Robert Heinlein
Julia — Lev Grossman
Kelsier — Brandon Sanderson
Kull — Robert E. Howard
Kylar Stern — Brent Weeks
Lady Jessica — Frank Herbert
Mellorin Rebaine — Ari Marmell
Moiraine Damodred — Robert Jordan
Morrolan e’Drien — Steven Brust
Mr. Wednesday — Neil Gaiman
Napoleon (on a dragon) — Naomi Novik
Paksenarrion — Elizabeth Moon
Peter Grant — Ben Aaronovitch
Rachel Morgan — Kim Harrison
Randur Estevu — Mark Charan Newton
Ray Lilly — Harry Connolly
Raylene Pendle — Cherie Priest
Revan — Drew Karpyshyn
Richard Rahl — Terry Goodkind
Ringil Eskiath — Richard K. Morgan
Saphira — Chris Paolini
Seregil — Lynn Flewelling
Sparhawk — David Eddings
Stony Mayhall — Daryl Gregory
Susannah Dean — Stephen King
Tarzan — Edgar Rice Burroughs
Tattoo — China Miéville
Tomas — Raymond Feist
Tyrion Lannister — George R.R. Martin
Waylander — David Gemmell
The Wicked Witch — Frank Baum
Y.T. — Neal Stephenson
Zaphod Beeblebrox — Douglas Adams