Ice & Fire Novella: The Princess and the Queen by George R. R. Martin


George R. R. Martin is the busiest of men right now.

The author of the bestselling A Song of Ice & Fire series has been hard at work on a number of projects while writing The Winds of Winter, the next Ice & Fire novel. He is contributing short stories to various anthologies like Dangerous Women, and in his spare time he is writing the forthcoming The World of Ice & Fire, a book that will feature Westeros history and stories we likely won’t see in the actual series itself.

When asked to write a several-hundred-word sidebar for that book on the Dance of Dragons—the terrible civil war that takes place 170 years before A Game of Thrones that sees most of the Targaryen dragons killed—George wrote about 15,000 words instead.

Since that is too big for The World of Ice & Fire and it is one of the crucial historical aspects leading up to the current series, George decided to publish it in Dangerous Women! The novella is called The Princess and the Queen!

George has also released the line-up for Dangerous Women:

  • Introduction by Gardner Dozois
  • “Some Desperado” by Joe Abercrombie – A Red Country story
  • “My Heart is Either Broken” by Megan Abbott
  • “Nora’s Song” by Cecelia Holland
  • “The Hands That Are Not There” by Melinda Snodgrass
  • “Bombshells” by Jim Butcher – A Harry Dresden story
  • “Raisa Stepanova” by Carrie Vaughn
  • “Wrestling Jesus” by Joe R. Lansdale
  • “Neighbors” by Megan Lindholm
  • “I Know How to Pick ’Em” by Lawrence Block
  • “Shadows For Silence in the Forests of Hell” by Brandon Sanderson
  • “A Queen in Exile” by Sharon Kay Penman
  • “The Girl in the Mirror” by Lev Grossman – A Magicians story
  • “Second Arabesque, Very Slowly” by Nancy Kress
  • “City Lazarus” by Diana Rowland
  • “Virgins” by Diana Gabaldon – An Outlander story
  • “Hell Hath No Fury” by Sherilynn Kenyon
  • “Pronouncing Doom” by S.M. Stirling – An Emberverse story
  • “Name the Beast” by Sam Sykes
  • “Caretakers” by Pat Cadigan
  • “Lies My Mother Told Me” by Caroline Spector – A Wild Cards story
  • “The Princess and the Queen” by George R.R. Martin – A Song of Ice and Fire story

There is currently no release date for Dangerous Women but I hope it will be publishing soon! That is one great line-up!

More soon!