Lists

Loved Halloween? Here’s What to Read Next

 

James Jude Courtney as Michael Myers, “Halloween” (2018)/©Universal Pictures

Seen the new Halloween movie? Looking for some scary reads? We’ve got you covered. Warning: Spoilers!

  • The cover of the book Red Dragon

    Red Dragon

    Thomas Harris’s Silence of the Lambs gets the most attention from readers, but for my money, Red Dragon the more disturbing book. This novel, which takes place before Hannibal and Clarice Starling cross paths, finds FBI agent Will Graham consulting The Good Doctor regarding another killer: Francis Dollarhyde AKA “The Tooth Fairy.” Dollarhyde, like Michael Myers, is completely deranged. He is immensely strong, totally delusional, and impossible to reason with.

     
  • The cover of the book Final Girls

    Final Girls

    A Novel

    The Final Girl is a popular horror movie trope: the last woman alive who finally brings the monster or murderer to justice. Halloween plays with this concept in a number of ways, and so does Riley Sager’s Final Girls. In this book, two survivors of different serial killer rampages meet up in the aftermath of a third’s possible suicide.

     
  • The cover of the book Pursuit

    Pursuit

    A Novel

    Thirteen people are massacred inside a Louisville restaurant, leaving the police and the public with no clues as to the killer’s identity. Unwilling to wait for answers, one of the victim’s family members hires private investigator Roy Prescott to find the murderer. Prescott decides his best course is to taunt the killer into coming out of hiding, starting what turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. Everyone knows who Michael Myers is in the Halloween movies, but Laurie Strode, like Roy Prescott, knows that he’ll eventually come for her. 

     
  • The cover of the book There's Someone Inside Your House

    There's Someone Inside Your House

    A slasher is killing the students of a small town high school, and new student Makani Young worries she might be next. But Makani has secrets of her own — dark secrets in the town she left behind. Can the killer be closer than she thinks? While Michael Myers kills lots of people, he seems to have a thing for teenagers, just like the murderer in Stephanie Perkins’s tale. 

     
  • The cover of the book October Dreams:

    October Dreams:

    A Celebration of Halloween

    Fortunately for us, we’re not being stalked by a serial killer (as far as we know), but Halloween is still a spooky time. Make the most of it with October Dreams, a collection of Halloween tales edited by Richard Chizmar and Robert Morrish. Just be sure to leave the porch light on!

     
  • The cover of the book Zodiac

    Zodiac

    The Shocking True Story of the Hunt for the Nation's Most Elusive Serial Killer

    The Zodiac Killer was a sexual sadist who took joy in killing teenage lovers, among others. Like Myers, he is thought to have worn a mask, and certainly, he delighted in scaring not just his victims, but the public at large. He taunted the press and police with mysterious letters daring them to catch him, and may have murdered as many as 50 people before he disappeared. That’s right: He was never caught. Zodiac is a legend: a real-life bogeyman who may still be out there lurking in the shadows. 

     
  • The cover of the book The Human Predator

    The Human Predator

    A Historical Chronicle of Serial Murder and Forensic Investigation

    Why do serial killers do the things they do? Accomplished true crime author Katherine Ramsland is as close to knowing as any of us. A psychologist by trade, Ramsland’s history of serial killers and the methods by which they were brought to justice will bring you into the minds of these feared predators. Hopefully you’ll be able to find your way out again, unlike Halloween’s Dr. Sartain.

     
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
03
03
05
05
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
03
03
05
05
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
03
03
05
05
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
Asset 3
03
03
05
05
Asset 3
Asset 3
Give Gifts Give Gifts Give Gifts Give Gifts

Check out our Ultimate Gift Guide to find the perfect presents.